UNCG Research

Research Personnel

Leadership

Vice Chancellor for Research and Engagement
Dr. Terri L. Shelton

1702 MHRA Bldg, 1111 Spring Garden St., Greensboro, NC 27412
Phone: 336.256.0232
shelton@uncg.edu

Director, Office of Innovation Commercialization
Mr. L. Staton Noel

1613D MHRA Bldg, 1111 Spring Garden St., Greensboro, NC 27412
Phone: 336.256.1041
lsnoel@uncg.edu

Interim Director, Office of Research Integrity
Dr. Lisa Goble
2704 MHRA Bldg, 1111 Spring Garden St., Greensboro, NC 27412
Phone: 336.256.1173
lagoble@uncg.edu

Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
Dr. Valera Francis

2704 MHRA Bldg, 1111 Spring Garden St., Greensboro, NC 27412
Phone: 336.334.4919
vtfranc2@uncg.edu


Major initiatives

Director, Institute for Community and Economic Engagement
Dr. Emily M. Janke

3710 MHRA MHRA Bldg, 1111 Spring Garden St., Greensboro, NC 27412
Phone: 336.256.2578
emjanke@uncg.edu


Administrative Staff

Strategic Projects Coordinator
Ryan S. Barry
1713 MHRA Bldg, 1111 Spring Garden St., Greensboro, NC 27412
Phone: 336.334.4623
rsbarry@uncg.edu

Instructional Technology Consultant for Media Development
Mike Dickens
1705 MHRA Bldg, 1111 Spring Garden St., Greensboro, NC 27412
Phone: 336.334.3730
mldicken@uncg.edu

Business Officer
Dennis M. Diegel
1713 MHRA Bldg, 1111 Spring Garden St., Greensboro, NC 27412
Phone: 336.334.3227
dmdiegel@uncg.edu

Information Technology Manager
Christian I. Farrior
1708 MHRA Bldg, 1111 Spring Garden St. Greensboro, NC 27412
Phone: 336.334.9702
cifarrio@uncg.edu

Executive Assistant to the Vice Chancellor of Research and Engagement
Debbie Freund
1704 MHRA Bldg, 1111 Spring Garden St. Greensboro, NC 27412
Phone: 336.256.0426
freundd@uncg.edu

Financial Manager
Barbara Hemphill
1712 MHRA Bldg, 1111 Spring Garden St. Greensboro, NC 27412
Phone: 336.256.1172
bbhemphi@uncg.edu

Grant Assistant & Office Coordinator 
Jody Hughes
1601 MHRA Bldg, 1111 Spring Garden St., Greensboro, NC 27412
Phone: 336.334.4623
jfhughes@uncg.edu

Media and Communication Manager
Sangeetha Shivaji, M.S.
1706 MHRA Bldg, 1111 Spring Garden St., Greensboro, NC 27412
Phone: 336.256.0195
s.shivaji@uncg.edu

Technology Support Specialist
David A. Starnes
1604 MHRA Bldg, 1111 Spring Garden St., Greensboro, NC 27412
Phone: 336.256.2601
dastarne@uncg.edu

Technology Support Technician
Brandon Kniffin
1703 MHRA Bldg, 1111 Spring Garden St., Greensboro, NC 27412
Phone: 336.663.2561
b_kniffi@uncg.edu

Senior Research Scientist
Chris Payne
3704 MHRA Bldg, 1111 Spring Garden St., Greensboro, NC 27412
Phone: 336.334.3863
ccpayne@uncg.edu