2018-2019 Research Excellence Awards

UNCG Research congratulates Professor L. DiAnne Borders and Associate Professor Risa Applegarth, our 2018-2019 Research Excellence Award winners.

Professor L. DiAnne Borders receives the Senior Research Excellence Award for her work in the field of counselor education.

Dr. Borders has dedicated her career to enhancing the practice of clinical supervision through her research on supervisor training, through her professional leadership as Editor of the Clinical Supervisory, and through her contributions on multiple task forces on supervision professional standards.

The UNCG Burlington Industries Excellence Professor has been widely recognized for her excellence in teaching and research. Her accolades include the Clinical Supervision Award from the Southern Association for Counselor Education and Supervision in 2018, UNCG’s Outstanding Director of Graduate Study Award in 2018, the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Association for Counselor Education and Supervision in 2017, and the Distinguished Senior Research Scholar Award from the School of Education in 2014.

Borders is a former chair of the Counseling and Educational Development Department and the UNCG Faculty Marshal and Mace Bearer.

Be on the lookout for an interview with our Senior Research Excellence Award winner in the Fall 2020 UNCG Research Magazine. 

Associate Professor Risa Applegarth receives the Junior Research Excellence Award for her scholarship in rhetoric.

In addition to her faculty position in the Department of English, Dr. Applegarth is a cross-appointed faculty member of the Women and Gender Studies program. Her research and teaching interests include rhetorical history and theory, genre theory, women’s rhetoric, and scientific and professional discourse.

She is known for both her scholarly and teaching accomplishments. Her first book, “Rhetoric in American Anthropology: Gender, Genre, and Science,” received the Conference on College Composition and Communication’s Outstanding Book Award in 2016. In the same year, she received UNCG’s Mary Settle Sharp Award for Teaching Excellence and the College of Arts and Sciences Senior Teaching Award.

Other recognitions include the Article of the Year Award from the Association for the Rhetoric of Science and Technology in 2013 and the Marc Friedlaender Faculty Excellence Award in 2012.

Be on the lookout for an interview with our Junior Research Excellence Award winner in the Spring 2020 UNCG Research Magazine. 

The campus-wide Research Excellence recognition program was established in 1988 on the principle that creating and diffusing knowledge is a formal obligation of the University. Work by awardees contributes in an exemplary fashion to this end. Each year, a scholar at the rank of professor receives the Senior Research Excellence Award and a cash honorarium of $7,500, while a scholar at the rank of assistant or associate professor receives the Junior Research Excellence Award and $4,500.

Awardees are selected based on the importance of their contributions to the field, the originality of their work, the execution of their research, the pattern of their research productivity, and the academic reputation of the journals, publishing houses, exhibitions, and professional presentations in which their work has appeared.

Read more about the UNCG Research Excellence Award here.
For a list of prior recipients, click here.